Skip to main content
IELTS for HCPC professions

IELTS for HCPC registration: 7.0 overall and no skill below 6.5

The HCPC needs 7.0 overall in IELTS with no skill below 6.5. Speech and language therapists need 8.0 with no skill below 7.5.

Up to 10 essays free, no card. Need more?

01 / The rules

The official IELTS rules for HCPC registration, with their links.

UK

HCPC: every profession except speech and language therapists

IELTS Academic or General Training, UKVI or not

Listening
6.5
Reading
6.5
Writing
6.5
Speaking
6.5
Overall
7.0
  • Taken at a test center, not at home.
  • Your certificate must be no more than 2 years old.
  • One Skill Retake: accepted within 6 months, on the same test report.
  • Two full tests together: not stated.

Official page Last checked: 19 October 2026

UK

HCPC: speech and language therapists

IELTS Academic or General Training, UKVI or not

Listening
7.5
Reading
7.5
Writing
7.5
Speaking
7.5
Overall
8.0
  • Taken at a test center, not at home.
  • Your certificate must be no more than 2 years old.
  • One Skill Retake: accepted within 6 months, on the same test report.
  • Two full tests together: not stated.

Official page Last checked: 19 October 2026

02 / Your case

Academic or General Training? The HCPC takes both

The scores you need are the same in both versions. In Writing, only Task 1 is different. The Reading texts are different too, so think about both parts before you choose.

  • General Training Task 1: a letter.
  • Academic Task 1: a report on a chart, table, map or process.
  • Task 2 in both: the same kind of essay, at least 250 words.
  • In both: a 6.0 in any skill fails, even with 8 in the other three.
03 / Why Writing

For HCPC registration, Writing often holds the band back.

The HCPC takes both versions of IELTS, and in IELTS's own 2024-2025 data, Writing had the lowest average of the four skills in Academic and the second lowest in General Training, after Reading. IELTS test taker performance data, 2024-2025.

One Skill Retake: the HCPC accepts a retake within 6 months on the same test report, but IELTS only offers it within 60 days of an IELTS on computer test. Plan for 60 days.
Who accepts One Skill Retake

04 / Your plan

A Writing plan for HCPC registration.

  1. Set your target band.

    Set your target to the lowest Writing score the HCPC accepts for your job. For the HCPC, that is 6.5 in Writing, or 7.5 for speech and language therapists. Each rewrite shows your own answer at that band, so the gap is easy to see.

  2. Write the tasks your test has.

    The HCPC takes both versions, so try one Academic chart report and one General Training letter to see which suits you, then write Task 2 essays. Time each with the practice timer.

  3. Fix your lowest criterion first.

    One skill below the minimum fails, so begin with your lowest criterion and read its labeled corrections. Before you book, see which of your Task 1 and Task 2 bands is lower.

05 / What VoyaLang does

What VoyaLang does for HCPC registration, and what it does not.

VoyaLang does
It checks either Task 1, an Academic chart report or a General Training letter (11 types), and Task 2 essays on any question, your own included. Each answer gets a band on all four criteria and every mistake fixed and labeled, then comes back rewritten at your target band. It has a practice timer, and a countdown once you add your exam date.
VoyaLang does not
Its bands are per task, never for the whole Writing test, and none is an official IELTS score. It has nothing for Listening, Reading or Speaking, or for other tests such as OET. Booking a test, applying to the HCPC and advice on registration are left to you and the HCPC.
FAQ

Questions about IELTS for HCPC registration.

Can I combine two IELTS tests for the HCPC?

The HCPC page does not say. It lists the scores your certificate must show and accepts One Skill Retake on the same test report. Ask the HCPC before you plan on two full tests.

Does IELTS at home count for the HCPC?

No. The HCPC wants a test taken at a test center, not at home. Both UKVI and non-UKVI versions are accepted.

Should a physiotherapist take IELTS Academic or General Training for the HCPC?

Either one counts, and the scores needed are the same. In Writing, the difference is Task 1: a letter in General Training, a chart report in Academic. Write one of each and see which comes out stronger. The Reading test is different too.

What IELTS score do speech and language therapists need for the HCPC?

8.0 overall, with no skill below 7.5. That is higher than for every other HCPC profession, which needs 7.0 overall with no skill below 6.5.

Is the IELTS rule the same if I move to Australia instead?

No. Almost every Australian health board uses one rule: IELTS Academic with 7 overall, 7 in Listening, Reading and Speaking, and 6.5 in Writing. General Training is not on its list. See our Ahpra page.

Related goals

This page sums up official rules in plain words. It is not immigration or legal advice. Rules change, so check the official page before you book or apply. Every rule here was checked on or after 19 October 2026. VoyaLang is not affiliated with or endorsed by IELTS, the British Council, IDP, or Cambridge Assessment English.